Soc 997 - Demography Seminar

Spring 2018 Schedule

Organizers: Jenna Nobles and John Mullahy
Room: 8417 Sewell Social Sciences (unless otherwise indicated)
Time: 12:15-1:30 pm (unless otherwise indicated)

Download the .ical file for electronic calendars
How to subscribe to the calendar via google


Tuesday, January 23
Matthew Hall (Cornell University)
Liminal Legality and Education: Evidence from
Salvadoran Child Migrants

Tuesday, January 30
David Kaplan (UW-Madison)
Recent Developments in Bayesian Model
Averaging Applicable to Social Science Research

Tuesday, February 6
Letizia Mencarini (University of Bocconi)
Is the Impact of Employment Uncertainty on
Fertility Intentions Channeled by Subjective Well-Being?

Tuesday, February 13
Filiz Garip (Cornell University)
Network Effects on Behavior: How Do Mechanisms Matter?

Tuesday, February 20
Anita Mukherjee (UW-Madison)
The Moral Hazard of Lifesaving Innovations: Naloxone Access, Opioid Abuse, and Crime

Tuesday, February 27
Andres Villarreal (University of Maryland)
Immigrants' Economic Assimilation: Evidence from Longitudinal Earnings Records

Tuesday, March 6
Jackelyn Hwang (Stanford University)
Unequal Displacement: Gentrification, Race, and Residential Destinations in Philadelphia

Wednesday, March 7, 4:00pm Wisconsin Institute for Discovery (WID)
NOTE DIFFERENT DAY, TIME, PLACE

Janet Gornick (CUNY)
Women, Work, and Care: What Can We Learn from Cross-National Comparisons?
Co-Sponsored with the Jean Monnet European Union Center of Excellence,
Institute for Research on Poverty, and the La Follette School of Public Affairs.

Tuesday, March 13
DemSem Cancelled. Reschedule date to be determined.

Tuesday, March 20
Sarah Gollust (University of Minnesota)
Media and the Marketplace: Assessing the Relationship between
Media and Health Insurance Behaviors in a Politically Polarized Information Environment

Tuesday, March 27
No DemSem - SPRING BREAK WEEK!

Tuesday, April 3
Sarah Hayford (Ohio State University)
Women's Union and Childbearing Experiences and
the Growing Educational Divide in Female Sterilization

Thursday, April 5, 3:00pm, 4281 Helen C. White Hall
NOTE DIFFERENT DAY, TIME, PLACE

Mark Hugo Lopez (Pew Research Center)
Hispanic Identity Fades Across Generations as Immigrant Connections Fall Away
Co-Sponsored with the The Chican@ and Latin@ Studies Program and Department of Sociology

Tuesday, April 10
Maria Abascal (Columbia University)
Not All Diversity is Created Equal: Solidarity and Collective Action in NYC Neighborhoods

Thursday, April 12 2:30pm - 5:30pm, Fluno Center
NOTE DIFFERENT DAY, TIME, PLACE

Emerging Policy and Ethical Implications from Neuroscience, Genetics, and the Microbiome
Co-Sponsored with La Follette School of Public Affairs, Center for Demography of Health and Aging, and Institute for Research on Poverty

Tuesday, April 17
Heather Hill (University of Washington)
Income Dynamics and Child Cognitive and Socioemotional Outcomes
Co-Sponsored with Institute for Research on Poverty

Tuesday, April 24
No DemSem - PAA Week

Tuesday, May 1
Jennifer Beam Dowd (Kings College, London and CUNY)
Of Men and Microbes: Social Determinants of the Microbiome

Tuesday, May 8: No DemSem - SUMMER RECESS

Untitled Document

Seminars from Previous Semesters