November 15, 1995


MADISON -- Eight University of Wisconsin-Madison professors have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of their efforts toward advancing or fostering distinguished applications in science.

They are among 273 individuals nationwide to receive the honor, which has been given annually by AAAS since 1874. AAAS represents the world's largest federation of scientists and has more than 140,000 members. The association publishes the weekly, peer- reviewed journal Science.

Candidates for the honor are considered after being nominated by a steering group from their respective disciplines, by three Fellows or by the association's executive office. The AAAS Council then votes on the final list.

UW-Madison recipients are:

Larry L. Bumpass, N.B. Ryder Professor of Sociology. A UW- Madison faculty member since 1970, Bumpass is a national authority on the social demography of family transitions and living arrangements. Bumpass has led national studies on patterns of cohabitation, marriage, contraceptive behavior, fertility, marital disruption and remarriage.

Robert G. Cassens, professor of meat and animal science. Cassens, who has been a UW-Madison professor since 1964, has done extensive research in food safety, muscle biochemistry and animal growth. He has published more than 275 scientific papers in his field, and has advised Congress on ways to improve safety in the federal meat and poultry inspection system.

F. Fleming Crim Jr., J.E. Willard professor of chemistry. Crim, a professor here since 1977, has more than 90 publications to his credit in the field of chemical reaction dynamics. His research uses lasers to discover and control the course of chemical reactions. Crim also received a 1991 UW-Madison Distinguished Teaching Award and a 1992 Upjohn Award for his excellence in teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate level.

Jaleh Daie, professor of botany. Daie has been a UW-Madison professor since 1993; she also is science adviser for the UW System. Since 1981, she has published more than 80 papers on the physiological and molecular mechanisms of carbon metabolism in plants and provided academic leadership at the university and national levels. In January, she will serve a two-year appointment as president of the Washington, D.C.-based Association for Women in Science.

Morton Ann Gernsbacher, Sir Frederic C. Bartlett professor of psychology. Gernsbacher, who joined the UW-Madison faculty in 1992, is an internationally renowned researcher of language comprehension, memory and cognition. Gernsbacher taught high school before pursuing psychology, and has won awards for undergraduate teaching and grants to improve undergraduate instruction.

David D. Houghton, professor of atmospheric and oceanic sciences. Houghton has been a UW-Madison professor since 1972, and has also served as an invited scientist and lecturer in the People's Republic of China. His research specialties are in atmospheric and climate dynamics, and mesoscale and large-scale meteorology. He is the 1995 president of the American Meteorological Society and has served on other national panels in meteorology research.

Stanley A. Temple, Beers-Bascom professor in conservation, Department of Wildlife Ecology. Temple, a professor here since 1976, is the author of 10 books and more than 205 publications, some for widely read journals such as Science and Nature. He has worked on conservation problems in 18 different countries, and has worked with some of the world's rarest and most visible endangered species, including the Peregrine Falcon, California Condor, and Whooping Crane. He has won major campus and international awards for excellence in research and teaching.

Paul H. Williams, Myron and Anna Atwood professor of plant pathology and former director of the Center for Biology Education. Williams, on the UW-Madison faculty since 1962, developed plants with abbreviated life cycles to use in breeding programs for vegetables. However, he saw the vast potential for using these "fast plants" in the classroom, and developed teaching programs that are used by educators throughout the world. His three innovative curricula -- Wisconsin Fast Plants, Bottle Biology, and the AgriScience Institute -- collectively have reached more than 40,000 educators. He won a 1990 UW-Madison Distinguished Teaching Award.
Brian Mattmiller, ,